I always enjoy listening to groups that I’ve never listened to before. It’s liking when you first learn to ride a bike without training wheels. At first, you’re falling all over the place (shitty groups) but finally you get in your groove and stay up on the bike (that good group). You may fall over again, but eventually you are going to find another groove and like what you’re doing. Okay, that was probably a pretty shitty analogy, but you know what I mean. Well, The Tripp is one of those groups that keep you in the groove.

The Tripp (Talking Rhymes In Perfect Pattern) is a duo hailing from Syracuse University. This is my first time hearing them and like I said before I didn’t know what to expect. I’ve never been a big fan of these movie/TV show-themed mixtapes, so I was skeptical at first. Skepticism was definitely the wrong attitude to have.

These guys definitely put out a solid, if not excellent project. Bites of Inception are played frequently throughout which, oddly doesn’t take away from the tape at all. Heavy and eclectic beats are prominent throughout the album and the lyrics, the effing lyrics, oh man, they picked the right movie to base on because the lyrics are deep, honest, and just phenomenal. Basically a mindfuck; There were at least four instances that I had to rewind the music to make sure I heard what I just heard. That’s definitely something I don’t have to do often, especially with all this “college rap.” They also drop a Master Splinter line. Master Splinter from Teenage Mutant Turtles, are you kidding me? Dope.

I don’t know why you are still reading this, download this tape right now, and be prepared to be wowed.

The Tripp-Inception Mixtape

