Gilbere Forte dropped his new mixtape Philadelphia Freshman a couple days ago but this was the first time I was able to listen to it a couple times. As the title indicates, Forte is a Philadelphia-based artist with some high energy.

Overall the album is solid; Containing some old, new, and unreleased songs to allow listeners to catch up on Forte’s stuff. Most of the samples are pretty good with Kanye’s I’m So Appalled and a few other goodies. Lyrically, I don’t think that Gilbere is in the upper echelon of rappers as he doesn’t really seem to drop anything too witty or crazy. However, his flow is fantastic. Reminds me of mid 90s Nas, stuff like on his God’s Son album, I’m not really sure why though. My favorites on the tape are his remake of I’m So Appalled and T.R.O.Y. with its killer beat. Definitely a good project for people that are new to Gilbere Forte’s stuff.

Download from DatPiff

Gilbere Forte-Philadelphia Freshman

