As I’ve mentioned before, there are a few blogs that I follow not because of their popularity, but because of their taste in music. More specifically, I can’t think of a time I haven’t looked at a post by Confusion over at PigeonsAndPlanes or Jamarcus over at MostlyJunkFood and wondered why they let some post go. To me, those guys have amazing taste in music, music which is very similar to what I like. Well, this Warm Brew grind was brought to you by none other than Marc over at MJF.

I downloaded this EP without listening to it, solely because of who recommended it. It sat dormant in my iTunes for almost a week before I dusted it off and gave it a spin. Definitely worth it.

Warm Brew is a new group out of Los Angeles, however, they aren’t like other LA acts like Odd Future, Lil B, etc. They have a nice distinct old-school sound with a little bit of new school flavor; think of them as the bridge between guys like Pharcyde and Goodie Mobb, and anything that’s come out in the last few years. I’m not sure of a time when a warm brew sounds appealing but, these guys make it taste good. They bend genres and their sound is incredibly smooth with some pretty dope lyrics and samples. A lot of nice spoken word ish too. No way you can put these guys in a box. Plus, this album is perfect for the summer, which I think is happening right now. One track below, and when you inevitably love that, the whole mixtape download is right below it. Looking forward to more from this group.

Download: Warm Brew-Warm Brew EP

